Vogue Knitting Fall 2014 #24 Duster Coat-Part Deaux

Thanks all for the nice responses to the post about my #24 Duster Coat in the current issue of VK.

I have photos of the coat when in progress that I’ve posted below.

Boho1Here is the original sketch submitted to VK along with the chart I made for the tribal patterning and the first sleeve.

The theme was 70’s bohemian and that brought to mind the movie Dr Zhivago and the fantastic coats and costumes worn therein. Perfect inspiration for this project!

boho2

Here are the completed fronts.  Getting the neckline the way I wanted it so that the collar would fit in correctly was a challenge. Ripped a couple of times before I figured it out.

boho3

Here is the completed back. My decrease lines can be seen easily. It looks like a lot of knitting, and it was, but the bulky yarn and size 10US needles helped it fly along.

boho4boho5The finished coat.

The large button is actually decorative. I bought a set of three large hooks and eyes to close the front securely.

I love this coat with it’s fit-and-flare shape ; so flattering to so many body types.  I’ll be making up a slightly different White Lies Designs version for Stitches West in February. Of course I’ll post photos here when it’s ready.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Vogue Knitting Fall 2014 #24 Duster Coat-Part Deaux”


  1. Fantastic job Joan! I would definitely love to knit this, but with my current project list? Maybe sometime in 2015?, 2016?,oops, more likely 2017! Well at least I’ll acquire the pattern for now.


How you like us now?

