The Retro Suit- Bringing Back Elegance

In my mom’s day, if you knitted (which practically everyone did) then somewhere along the way you’d knit yourself a suit.

At the time you might have done that on very tiny needles and it likely would have taken the better part of six months to complete.
However, when finished you’d have a beautiful addition to your wardrobe and if you were careful with storing it you’d probably keep it for many, many years as she did and proudly show it off to anyone interested. I found it amazing that anyone could have the patience to do such an involved and seemingly endless project.

Since I am so enamored of vintage fashions, I decided to give a nod to the days when knitters proudly wore their suits to any and every fancy or dressed up occasion. In these times when it is becoming increasingly popular to go out in public like this, it is a joy to see a woman taking enough pride in her appearance and talent to create and accessorize a beautiful outfit like the Retro Suit.
If you’re a real vintage afficionado, there is no better place than Ebay for a selection of vintage accessories, many of them quite affordable (the 40’s hat in my Styling Guide below went for a mere $24.99).

Explore posts in the same categories: Fashion, knit, retro, shaping knits, Styling guide, vintage

3 Comments on “The Retro Suit- Bringing Back Elegance”

  1. Desiree Says:

    The Retro Suit is so beautifully designed, I can’t wait to knit it up for my daughter’s wedding next summer. Your designs are so classy!

  2. Cassie Says:

    I love your Retro Suit, so chic! I have an issue of Vogue Knitting from 1952 and my favorite photo is of a woman wearing knitted two piece suit, hat with birdcage veil, pumps and gloves and she’s walking a huge dog. Yup, in the 50’s that’s how you looked when you went out to walk the dog. Such a shame people don’t take such pride anymore in their public appearance. Such a classic look wouldn’t go out of style anytime soon, so I might not mind spending 6 months knitting a suit.

  3. Denise Says:

    I made it years ago in when it was Interweave Knits in an eggplant color, and I loved it, until I expanded in size beyond wearing it. I may have to knit it again in a larger size.


How you like us now?

