Fashion Conscience

I love to read fashion blogs and it’s interesting to note how the proliferation of blogs from all over the world are leading to a sort of homogenization of fashion. So with that, I can say that the following observation is not just an American thing; it is showing up everywhere.

It’s been an unusually cold winter across the entire US and Europe this year, and with that has come something we’ve not seen in some time. Fur. On the street. Worn casually.

I’m not sure if this is a generational thing or if PETA is finally losing some of it’s militant grip on the conscience of the public, but I am surprised to see this and have a somewhat divided opinion on the matter.

I can argue the fur issue either way, but what really irritates me about this is the hypocrisy around it.

Many people I personally know wear leather, eat meat, fowl and fish, feed their pets commercial foods (which contain meat products) and yet are vehemently anti-fur. I find this emotion based stance completely illogical. I think the reason that this position isn’t more deeply explored is that once the issues are looked at in the cold light of day, it would take a major shift in lifestyle to support these emotional decisions; a place most of these folks are obviously, judging by their choices in food and dress, unwilling to go.

I think the bottom line is that if we all had to hunt or raise and kill our own food, not only would vastly more people become vegetarian, those who were not wouldn’t waste even a scrap of the animals they consume. In that case NOT wearing fur would be seen as despicable. But as it is, we have hired guns known as farmers to do the dirty job so it’s easy to chastely enjoy the spoils and fling mud at the fur industry.

So, what do YOU think?
Has the politically incorrect-ness of wearing fur worn off?

Explore posts in the same categories: Fashion

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Fashion Conscience”

  1. Morgana Says:

    I love your comments about fur and social conscience. The anti-fur issue has always bothered me because the original ’cause’ was the appalling conditions of some, not all, of the mink farms. This grew to be a social statement. If PETA bans furs and sprays paint on them, why not ostrich skin handbags?
    There is a rebound in furs partially because militant anti-fur activists in France have sprayed imitation fur coats. C’est tres amusement.

  2. Melissa Says:

    I was always bothered more by the thought of animals like mink being raised solely for their skins. If beef cattle skins are turned into shoes, so much the better. If food rabbit skins could be turned into warm coats, terrific. I just don’t like waste.

  3. joanmm Says:

    Melissa, though humans don’t eat the meat from minks (their scent glands give the meat an unsavory flavor) nothing does go to waste. Read here if you’re curious:

    http://www.furcommission.com/resource/Resources/MFIUS.pdf

  4. Stephanie Says:

    I have hunted and killed my own food. It certainly didn’t make me a vegetarian. It’s just part of life. Spend some time on a farm and get to know the cycle of life up close and personal. Maybe then you wouldn’t get so militant about a rodent.

  5. Rosemary Says:

    You don’t have to belong to PETA to be an animal activist. I think that it is appalling the way animals are kept in cages and are farmed for their fur especially in places like China. There are so many other choices we could make to keep us warm. I think it is hypocritic to wear animal parts and be vegetarian so I don’t! I, for one, could not sleep at night.
    It does make me feel physically ill when I see people wearing fur. I keep thinking that maybe that’s someone cat or dog or any other gorgeous creature who deserves to live. It’s just part of life to be compassionate and caring. Most people would not wear or eat their dogs or cats so what makes it right to wear mink, rabbit, fox etc?

  6. Mandy Says:

    I wish more people would wear fur.

    Overpopulation of non-native nutria in Louisiana contributes greatly to loss of wetlands in our coastal areas. A lack of hunting these invasive creatures for the fur trade only aids their destruction of our local environment. It is more ethical to wear their fur than it is to be vehemently opposed to it.

  7. Michelle Noe Says:

    Wild trapping of animals is simply torture. If the public is disgusted by the wearing of fur, then those abuses will be rare. Factory farming of any kind needs much more regulation to be considered humane. I believe in using the entire animal, even road kill, but I can see that an aversion to fur as a garment protects those animals from abuse. Predators are treated as varmints by most people who are not educated about their value and importance to the health of the ecosystem and to the health of their prey populations.


How you like us now?

