Vintage Fashionista

It’s been a year since my mom passed and we all  miss her terribly, especially at this time of year. But I had to smile at some of the photos that my brother scanned and sent me recently.

Mom did love her fashion and the 40’s was ( in my opinion ) the best decade in the 20th century for women’s styles.

So in honor of  Mrs. White,  I’d like to share some of her wartime vintage chic .  

ETA:  To satisfy the curious, most of these photos were taken in San Francisco, on or about Alabama Street where Mom’s family lived.  The last photo was taken in Yosemite, where you can see Half-Dome in the background.

mom2mom3mom4mom5mom6mom7mom8mom1

I love you, mom.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fashion, retro, vintage

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Vintage Fashionista”

  1. Annie Says:

    Sweetie, your mom and my mom would have been GOOD friends! She is absolutely adorable – and I see where you get your style and good looks!!

  2. Cher Says:

    How elegant your mother looks! Sigh. I love love love the 40’s as well; best clothes *ever*.

  3. retroho Says:

    wow i love her style! I run a retro fashion blog so your photos are much adored!

    Smike xx

  4. Angelika Says:

    The styles were just utterly feminine. Love that era as well.
    Beautiful Lady!!
    Angelika http://www.yarn-store.com

  5. Katie Says:

    Absolutely, gorgeous. What a lady.

  6. Rev Deb Says:

    These are wonderful pictures. And I agree, the 40’s were the best years for women’s fashions. Very elegant.


  7. I love the pictures of my Aunt! The gun pose is a little worrisome..especially what was at the other end!!! Great photos…I have some wonderful “40”s pictures of my Mom…I would love to share with you, another “sense of style” person..no wonder they got along so well in the earlier years. Stephanie

  8. Amie Says:

    Wow, she had a tiny waist and a pair of legs that went on for miles. Lovely pics!


  9. Adorable! Your mother was such a lady.


  10. Hi! I just discovered your art and I love it! Your Mom can be proud of you!
    I’m not knitting at all (I only crochet) but I really love your works!
    Have a nice day!
    Berry

  11. marleen Says:

    you have been awarded creatively 😉 go check my blog

  12. Maureen Says:

    I have just seen the pictures of your Mother and agree with all the comments that say how elegant she looks and how great the 40’s were for women – I also like the 30’s -women had a woman’s shape back then. It may be because I am on this side of the pond [England] but your Mother’s style looks typically French to me – do you have any Gallic ancestry?


How you like us now?

