Wherein it is determined that money can’t buy taste…

Granted, I haven’t been to a wedding in quite a while.  

I think the last one I attended was my own, eight years ago.  There was only one other guest and he was the groom.  Even though it was only the two of us, we were appropriately dressed for the happy occasion.

The spectrum of wedding celebrations is a huge one, with hubby and I at one end.  We got married at a little chapel by the side of the road on the way to Lake Tahoe one Saturday afternoon and stood in the snow with the minister. It was over in ten minutes. We continued on to Tahoe where we played a bit of roulette at Harrah’s, had a lovely dinner and went home the next morning.  I think the whole thing cost us $500 including hotel, car rental and gambling.  It was romantic, inexpensive and appropriate to who we are.

Then there’s the other end of the spectrum.

In the UK recently, a young (very young) lady married her betrothed.  She was 16 years old and he, 17. But that isn’t the unusual part of the story.

The father of the bride paid for the wedding, which is customary. What is unusual is that the blue collar dad paid 100,000 GBP ( $160,800.00 USD according to today’s exchange rate ) to marry off his little girl. 

According to the Telegraph newspaper:

     “Missy Quinn’s father Simon, 35, paid £16,000 ($25,000.00 USD) for her wedding dress, which was studded with Swarovski crystals and came with a 10ft train so heavy it took ten guests to help her out of the Rolls-Royce Phantom that brought her to church.

There were 150 guests at the reception and Mr Quinn also paid for cars, accommodation, the tiara and a £500 bouquet.

In total, it cost five times as much as the average UK wedding. Mr Quinn, who works surfacing driveways, insisted that the expense was worth it and added: “I’m very proud of her today.”

Missy, who hasn’t attended school since she was nine years old and wants to be a glamour model, struggled with the dress.

“It was extremely heavy and just standing in the church was really difficult. But despite all that, I felt just like Cinderella,” she said. “It cost a fortune, but I’ve always wanted a big wedding and my dad has been saving for ages to pay for it.”

Oh yes. There *is* the dress. If you can call it that.

Closer Magazine. Missey Quinn is just 16 and lives in a caravan, but her flashy wedding could have put many celebs bashes to shame.

Read more about it. I know you want to. There are more pictures; just be sure you’re sitting down.

ETA: Since posting this, I’ve come to learn that this family is part of Europe’s “Traveller” culture, which I had no previous knowledge of. There is little information on the internet about them, but I found this article to be of interest as it sheds a bit of light on the subject.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Wherein it is determined that money can’t buy taste…”


  1. That’s a lot of money for not much dress.

  2. rchrispy Says:

    WOW! That is astounding. Its no shock that she got married so young since her parents also did so.

    I felt bad having my parents pay for my inexpensive wedding where I made the dress to save on cost plus not have to wear white.

  3. Dina Says:

    I couldn’t believe the dress, so I followed the link. Is this real? Surely it must be a joke–all the make up and hideous clothing (or should I say lack of clothing) on children no less! Who knew bad taste could be so expensive.

  4. judy Says:

    Oh my. All that money was for the labor to sew on the crystals, I hope. It doesn’t look like it takes that much fabric. Or maybe part of the “dress costs” is the surgery to help her fill out that dress? I wonder what the British divorce rate is.

  5. Amie Says:

    OMG. Tragic. Absolutely tragic.

  6. Shay Says:

    AAAGH! My EYES!!!!!

  7. madonnaearth Says:

    I could very easily be critical, but I have to say I admire her father’s determination. Can you imagine saving that kind of money for 16 years?

    I plan to get married at a courthouse and have a nice little family party afterward, to the tune or $400 or less (much less) out of my own pocket. After seeing this, I believe I’m thinking way too small! lol

    I’m sitting here thinking of what I could accomplish with $160,000 right at hand. It’d be nice to be able to throw that kind of money around.

  8. madonnaearth Says:

    forgot to add, your wedding dress was gorgeous!

  9. redfear Says:

    Your wedding photo is beautiful! The other one – uhm… my eyes still hurt.

  10. Elaine UK Says:

    I’m almost ashamed to be British! We’re not all like this, honestly!

  11. Sandra Says:

    You wedding photo is lovely.
    Must say that I needed to laugh and the link for those weddings did it for me.

    Thank You.


How you like us now?

