Home again, but what a time!

Wow, what a great time we all had on our knitting cruise from NYC to Quebec city!

I flew in to New York the day before the cruise began and had a great time walking around Manhattan.

I’m a fan of Project Runway so was very interested in visiting Mood Fabrics where the contestants buy their supplies. 

My hotel was about five blocks away, so I went for a walk over there as soon as I got a chance.  Unfortunately  being a  Sunday as well as Labor day weekend, the garment district was closed up tight as was Mood.  I had some burnout silk and glass buttons in mind, but all I was able to get there  were these photos:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ah well, hopefully some other time.

I was a bit surprised with the view from my hotel room. Apparently $200 plus tax per night doesn’t buy a great view in Manhattan (nor any view it would appear).  The screaming 15 x 20 foot turbine engine of the hotel’s air conditioning system below my window did however, work like a giant white noise machine and lulled me right to sleep.  I’m thinking the big net over the thing is to keep pigeons from being sucked in as well as garbage.

Finding myself having brought the wrong needle size for a project i wanted to work on, I decided to hire a real NYC cab and have it take me over to Seaport Yarns, one of Lily Chin’s favorite local haunts ( or so I’m told ). Here, the view from inside the cab  hurling it’s way to the yarn shop.  You can’t see my eyes bugging out of my head nor my white knuckles on the door handle. Yes, it was terrifying and I’m shocked that we got there without a scratch.

Once to my destination I found Seaport Yarns a very comfortable,  well stocked shop with lots of room for classes and sitting-n-knitting. Here I am with Andrea, the owner, who tells me that the stairs and elevator to their fifth-floor shop is no deterrent to the determined hordes of knitters who find them.

The next day I took a cab over to the ship with fellow teacher Joan Shrouder and her husband Don. Once on board,  one of the first things we saw on our way out of NY harbor was this lovely lady:

Several day into the cruise we found ourselves in Halifax, Nova Scotia.  Our first stop there was to see Lucy Neatby at her delightful home/studio for a little tour and shopping experience.

Here, the bus pulls up right in front of Lucy’s house.  she must pay the neighbors off in hand-knit socks.                                                                     

 

 

 

 

 

 

This must be the place with yarn flung over the bushes !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lucy ( love her hair ) and I and some of her lovely projects.  Her home was filled with eclectic artwork.

    

 

 

 

 

 

 These critters were in Lucy’s washroom:

Then we were off to the Fleece Artist’s home studio. It was so interesting to see the dyeing going on and the yarn drying everywhere. Very inspiring.

Inside the dyeing kitchen:

Our days at sea were filled with lots of knitting, great food and wonderful classes.

Below, students from my toe-up sock class with their projects.

    

All in all, we had a wonderful time and I can’t wait for the next trip. Here’s a shot of all the great knitting cruisers!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Interested in booking a knitting cruise?  Contact Melissa at Craft Cruises!   Tell her Joan M-M sent you!

 It’s a perfect knitty vacation!                                                                  

Explore posts in the same categories: class workshop, Fashion, knit, shaping knits

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

How you like us now?

